Britain‘s longest preserved railway operating for 20 miles from Bishops Lydeard near Taunton through the stunning scenery of the Quantock Hills and along the coast to Minehead. Bishops Lydeard is also home to the Gauge Museum, a museum of artefacts such as signalling and uniform items, tickets, signs, etc. of GWR or local origin housed in 1862 Goods Shed. Includes a GWR sleeping car dating from 1897, a 'hands on' signalling display and a model railway.
Address: The Railway Station Minehead Somerset TA24 5BG
Open Days & Times
Sat-Sun & BHol 18 Mar-May. Daily 4-13 Apr. Also Tue-Wed 15 Apr-May. Tue-Thu, Sat-Sun & BHol Jun-Sep. Tue-Wed, Sat-Sun Oct. Festive trains mid-Nov-Dec. Visit website for more details.
- By Bus: 28
- By Rail: Taunton / 3 miles
- Souvenir Shop
- Full disabled access