Allenheads Heritage Centre 2026
Northumberland
Built around 1805 to house a Cornish pumping engine, which kept the lead mines underneath from flooding. Towards the end of its industrial life in the 1840s, a larger steam engine was installed in a final attempt to keep the mines dry enough to work.Following decommissioning, the engine house was converted into flats for mining families and was finally abandoned around 100 years ago and has been derelict ever since.
Visible at all times.