The museum is housed in the Methodist church built in 1845 for the Cornish miners who came to work in Allihies. It tells the story of copper mining at Allihies from the Bronze Age right up to the 1960s. The visitor will find out about the geology, history and geography of this unique place through artefacts, models, multimedia and the small library. Many of the exhibits can be handled and there are some surprises to discover along the way. See a model of the Man Engine that took miners down to the copper veins - the only one ever installed in Ireland!
Address: Allihies Beara West Cork Co. Cork IRELAND
Open Days & Times
Easter-Oct 1030-1700. Visit website for more details.