museums and attractions

Other Sites of Interest / Industrial

The Mill on the Fleet

The main exhibition floor houses displays focusing on the history and heritage of Gatehouse, and exploring the Fleet Valley and surrounding areas.

Facilities

  • Parking
  • Refreshments
  • Part disabled access

Operator

Dumfries & Galloway Council

Address

High Street Gatehouse of Fleet Castle Douglas Dumfriesshire DG7 2HS

  • 01557 814 099
  • .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)
  • View website

Open days

Daily 26 Mar-Oct 1000-1700.

The mill was built in 1788 as a cotton spinning mill and restored as a visitor and exhibition centre by Dumfries & Galloway Council in the 1980s. It is also houses the Gatehouse Tourist Information Centre.

The Fleet Valley is a designated National Scenic Area – one of three in this part of Scotland.  The displays introduce the valley and provide orientation and resources to help visitors explore the area.

Back to top