Washington ‘F’ Pit Museum

Step back in time and remember the region's coal mining heritage. See the impressive winding engine which once took pit men to the coalface and brought coal to the surface, now operated by an electric motor. The 'F' pit, which was sunk in 1777, became the largest coal-producing pit at the colliery but eventually closed on 21 June 1968 when the last coals were drawn to the surface.

Facilities

Contact & Location

Operator:
Address:Albany Way
Washington
Tyne and Wear NE37 1BJ
Contacts: 0191 ​553 ​2323
.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)
View website
Open days:Mon, Tue 24-25, 31 Jul, 1, 7-8, 14-15, 21-22, 28-29 Aug. 1100-1500.

This entry was last updated on 28th June 2017