The last of the Thames Estuary paddle steamers, famous for her heroic service at Dunkirk in 1940. The Visitor Centre showcases the history of the ship through display boards, videos and moving images. Artefacts and ephemera from the Medway Queen's long career are on display.
- Souvenir Shop
- Full disabled access
Medway Queen Preservation Society
Gillingham Pier Pier Approach Road Gillingham Kent ME7 1RX
17 Feb-1 Dec Sat 1100-1600. (Last entry 1500.)
By Rail: Gillingham / 1 mile
The Medway Queen was launched in 1924 and entered service on Thames estuary routes in May of that year. She was used as a minesweeper in WWII and is famous for her seven trips to Dunkirk in 1940. After the war she returned to her old route until 1963. From 1966 until 1974 she was a nightclub on the Isle of Wight. The ship was returned to the river Medway in 1984 and the hull has now been rebuilt with support from the Heritage Lottery Fund and the European Regional Development Fund.