Probably England's oldest continuously operating narrow-gauge railway. Built in 1919 from Great War surplus materials to serve the local sand quarrying industry. It is now a fascinating working museum, offering a slow relaxing return journey of 70 minutes, out into the rolling Bedfordshire countryside. Engine shed tours on Sundays.
- Souvenir Shop
- Part disabled access
Leighton Buzzard Narrow Gauge Railway Society
Page's Park Station Billington Road Leighton Buzzard Bedfordshire LU7 4TG
Sun & BHol 24 Mar-17 Nov. Also Tue-Thu in school hols; some Wed & Sat. See website for more.
By Bus: D1
By Rail: Leighton Buzzard / 2 miles
Not just a slow, relaxing train ride, but a piece of living history, and a nationally accredited museum.
The Leighton Buzzard Light Railway (to give its original name) dates from 1919, one of several 2ft gauge railways built from materials and equipment surplus from the battlefield supply lines of the Great War just ended. It is also the only survivor of these lines, and is believed to be the oldest narrow gauge railway in England to have operated without a break for almost a century.
The volunteer-run society which now operates the railway started operating steam-hauled passenger services in 1968, although the last sand quarry branch did not close until as late as 1981.
In 2017 it celebrated its 50th anniversary of the foundation of the Society which made all this possible. Also the centenary of two of our locomotives which saw front-line duty serving the Great War trenches.
Over the years, the society has built up one of England's finest collections of narrow gauge locomotives and rolling stock, which operates over a line that is just short of three miles long. Sharp bends, steep gradients, level crossings and roadside running make today's Leighton Buzzard Railway a living reminder of transport in a bygone age.
The smart new terminal station at Page's Park is on the southern side of Leighton Buzzard, close to the A505 southern bypass, from which it is signposted.