Unique 8-bladed working windmill with displays, artefacts and demonstrations. Guided tours by millers with our own stoneground flours for sale. Located in the old engine shed and sawmill is Heckington’s unique 8-Sail Brewery.
- Souvenir Shop
- Part disabled access
Heckington Windmill Trust
Hale Road Heckington Sleaford Lincolnshire NG34 9JW
Fri, Sat-Sun, also Easter Thu-Mon 1200-1600. Daily in school summer hols closes 1700. Santa in Dec.
By Rail: Heckington / 0.10 miles
The mill was originally built in 1830 by Edward Ingledew of Gainsborough for Michael Hare as a five-sailed mill. Following a severe thunderstorm which blew off the cap and sails, it was repaired in 1892. The repairs were carried out by John Pocklington using a cap and eight sails from a windmill in Boston. The bricks from the Boston mill were recycled and used to build the mill house that stands at the front of the site.
Heckington mill ceased work in 1946 and deteriorated until it was purchased by Kesteven County Council in 1953 and made safe. The mill underwent restoration in 1986 and further major repairs were carried out in 2004 and is now in full working order.